University invites nominations for Diversity Leadership Awards

Members of the UChicago community can now submit nominations for the University's 2013 Diversity Leadership Awards, given each year since 2009 to alumni and staff members who have made fostering diversity and equality a priority in their everyday lives.

Nine people have received the honor for developing opportunities for diverse populations and creating a culture of inclusiveness on campus and beyond. The accomplishments of past recipients show the varying paths they have carved out in their personal and professional roles to enrich and empower others.   

“Each year when we accept nominations for the Diversity Leadership Awards, we discover new sources of inspiration among our UChicago community,” said Sonya Malunda, Senior Associate Vice President for Community Engagement, who co-chairs the Diversity Leadership Council with Prof. William McDade.

“These are individuals who live out their deep, personal commitment to diversity, equality and community activism in their careers,” Malunda added. “We hope everyone on campus and within the alumni community will consider nominating eligible coworkers or alumni whose commitments to inclusion support the University’s mission by welcoming diverse perspectives.”

The Diversity Leadership Council is a group of senior administrators from a broad cross-section of the University. Formed by President Robert J. Zimmer in 2007, the council gives the awards annually.

As the council begins accepting nominations for the 2013 Diversity Leadership Awards, it continues to honor the legacies and ongoing work of the first nine recipients — the late Larry Hawkins, director of Special Programs and College Preparation; James Hormel, JD'58, Hedy Ratner, AM'74 (2009); Duel Richardson, AB'67, former director of neighborhood relations and education in the Office of Civic Engagement; Evette Cardona, AM'98 (2010); the late Dr. James E. Bowman, X'64, Professor Emeritus in Pathology and Medicine; Lynda N. Hale, administrative director of the Primary Care Group (2011); Shayne Evans, director of the University of Chicago Charter School; and Sylvia Puente, AM’90, executive director of the Latino Policy Forum (2012).

A nomination form may be completed through Nov. 16, the deadline to nominate a non-academic employee or UChicago alum for the award. Anyone may nominate an eligible candidate.

President Zimmer and the DLC will present the 2013 Diversity Leadership Awards to the recipients in January in conjunction with the annual Martin Luther King Jr. celebration. Descriptions of the award and the nomination process are provided on the Diversity and Inclusion website.