Faculty members honored for excellence in graduate-level teaching

The UChicago professional schools have announced honors for graduate-level teaching for the 2012–13 school year. Click on the schools below for stories on the award winners.

University of Chicago Booth School of Business awards

European and Asian Hillel J. Einhorn Excellence in Teaching Award — Ron Burt, the Hobart W. Williams Professor of Sociology and Strategy

Global Hillel J. Einhorn Excellence in Teaching Award — Linda Ginzel, Clinical Professor of Managerial Psychology


Faculty Excellence Award, Evening MBA and Weekend MBA programs — Erik Hurst, the V. Duane Rath Professor of Economics and John E. Jeuck Faculty Fellow

Emory Williams Award for Teaching Excellence — Douglas Skinner, John P. and Lillian A. Gould Professor of Accounting

Hillel J. Einhorn Excellence in Teaching Award, Executive MBA Program North America — Kevin Rock, Clinical Professor of Finance

Harris School of Public Policy

Best Teacher in a Non-Core Course — Jens Ludwig, the McCormick Foundation Professor of Social Service Administration, Law and Public Policy

Best Teacher in a Core Course —James Sallee, assistant professor

Law School

Class of 2013 Graduate Students Teaching Award — Saul Levmore, the William B. Graham Distinguished Service Professor of Law

School of Social Service Administration

William Pollack Award for Excellence in Teaching — Alida Bouris, assistant professor

Award for Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring — Julia Henly, associate professor

Pritzker School of Medicine and Biological Sciences Division

Distinguished Educator and Mentor Awards — Vineet Arora, associate professor of medicine; Marshall Chin, professor of medicine; Lianne Kurina, assistant professor of Health Studies; Peggy Mason, professor of neurobiology 

Lifetime Achievement Award — Javad Hekmat-panah, professor of surgery and neurology

Faculty Physician Peer Role Model Award — Anne Hong, assistant professor of medicine

Doroghazi Outstanding Clinical Teaching Award — Michael Marcangelo, assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral neuroscience

Outstanding Basic Science Teaching Award — Husain Sattar, associate professor of pathology 

 L.D.H. Wood Pre-Clinical Teaching Awards — James O’Reilly, senior lecturer, Organismal Biology and Anatomy; and Scott Stern, professor of medicine

Hilger Perry Jenkins Award — Adam Mikolajczyk, resident in medicine