Sugarman Awards go to two graduate students in physics

Two graduate students in physics have received the 20th annual Nathan Sugarman Awards for Student Research.

Samuel Gralla received the award “for his contributions to our understanding of the motion of small bodies and black holes in general relativity, taking into account the forces that these bodies exert upon themselves.”

Imai Jen-La Plante received the award “for the first measurement at the Large Hadron Collider of the production of W-bosons in association with quarks and gluons.”

Nathan Sugarman, SB’37, PhD’41, was a charter member of the Enrico Fermi Institute and a longtime professor in chemistry. He died in 1990.