Dreyfus Foundation Senior Scientist Mentor Awards go to three UChicago professors

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation has announced the selection of three University of Chicago professors emeriti in chemistry to the 2014 Senior Scientist Mentor Program. UChicago’s R. Stephen Berry, Takeshi Oka and Stuart Rice are among this year’s 10 recipients of the award.

The award provides $20,000 grants to emeritus faculty members in the chemical sciences to support undergraduate research that will be conducted under their guidance. The awardees are selected from applications submitted by colleges and universities nationwide.

“Many emeritus faculty no longer teach courses nor take on graduate students. Their wealth of experience and knowledge, however, makes them a unique and valuable educational resource for undergraduates,” said Mark Cardillo, the foundation’s executive director.

“This program provides for the development of a relationship where these senior scientists guide the students in perhaps their first research experience to generate new knowledge. Firsthand experience with the scientific research process is of value to all students, some of whom may be motivated to join the next generation of chemists.”

The UChicago awardees and their projects are as follows:

  • “Bridging Macro and Micro,” with Stephen Berry, the James Franck Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus in Chemistry.
  • “Astrochemistry: Identification of Diffuse Interstellar Bands and Analysis of H3+ and other Molecular Ions,” Takeshi Oka, the Robert A. Millikan Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus in Chemistry and Astronomy & Astrophysics.
  • “Three Studies of Quasi-Two-Dimensional Colloid Suspensions,” Stuart Rice, the Frank P. Hixon Distinguished Service Professor in Chemistry.

The Dreyfus Foundation is a non-profit organization devoted to advancing the chemical sciences. It was established in 1946 by chemist, inventor and businessman Camille Dreyfus.