Court Theatre receives 15 Jeff Award nominations

The University of Chicago’s Court Theatre has received 15 Joseph Jefferson (“Jeff”) Award nominations in 10 categories. Each production from Court’s 2011-2012 season received at least one nomination.

“We’re proud that, for the second year in a row, every one of our productions from the past season—Spunk, An Iliad, Invisible Man, and Angels in America—was recognized,” said Court Theatre Artistic Director Charles Newell. “All of these productions received tremendous support from the University of Chicago community, with whom we’re thrilled to share our success.”

The Jeff Awards honor outstanding theater artists in Chicago, and are considered by many to be Chicago’s equivalent of the Tony Awards. Director Charles Newell and music director Doug Peck received 2011 Jeff Awards for their work on Porgy and Bess. In 2010, Court received 18 Jeff nominations, the most in the theater’s history.

Court Theatre’s 2012-2013 season opens with August Wilson’s Jitney on Sept. 6.

Below is a complete list of Court Theatre’s 2012 Jeff Nominations. The 2012 Jeff Awards will be presented on Oct. 15.

Production (Play):

Angels in America, Parts One and Two
Invisible Man

Director (Play):

Christopher McElroen, Invisible Man
Charles Newell, An Illiad

Actor in Principal Role (Play):

Teagle F. Bougere (Invisible Man), Invisible Man
Larry Yando (Roy M. Cohn), Angels in America, Parts One and Two

Solo Performance:

Timothy Edward Kane (Poet), An Illiad
Actress in a Supporting Role (Play): Patrese D. McClain (The Folk), Spunk

New Adaptation (Play):

Oren Jacoby, Invisible Man

Scenic Design:

Troy Hourie, Invisible Man
Todd Rosenthal, An Iliad

Lighting Design:

John Culbert, Invisible Man

Sound Design:

Joshua Horvath and Kevin O’Donnell, Angels in America, Parts One and Two
Andre Pluess, An Iliad

Projections/Media Design:

Alex Koch, Invisible Man