The University Ceremony of the 527th Convocation of the University of Chicago was held on June 11, 2016, on the Main Quadrangle. The University of Chicago Pipe Band led distinguished faculty and graduating students in a procession, followed by opening remarks from President Robert J. Zimmer. Provost Eric D. Isaacs introduced David Nirenberg, who delivered the Convocation Address, “A Time of Mind." The Benton Medal was awarded to James G. Anderson, Philip S. Weld Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Howard University, and the Rosenberger Medal was awarded to Kerry James Marshal, Artist. In the second half of the ceremony, President Zimmer bestowed honorary degrees upon distinguished scholars and conferred degrees upon candidates in the College, graduate divisions, and professional schools. The program also included performances by the University of Chicago Motet Choir and the Millar Brass Ensemble.
The College diploma ceremony, held at 1 p.m. on the Main Quadrangle, featured student speakers Kristopher Michael Pittard, Hannah Marie Gitlin, and Konje M. Machini. During the ceremony, faculty members and graduate students were honored for their excellence in teaching; those honors included the Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, the Faculty Awards for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring, and the Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prize for Excellence in Teaching.