UChicago community to celebrate Nobel laureates at Nov. 4 event

A panel discussion and celebratory reception honoring 2013 Nobel laureates Eugene F. Fama and Lars Peter Hansen will take place Monday, Nov. 4 at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts.

Entitled “The Work Behind the Prize,” the panel will begin at 3:30 p.m., with opening remarks from President Robert J. Zimmer. Prof. Gary S. Becker, winner of the 1992 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, will serve as moderator.


Seating at the Logan Center’s Performance Hall will be limited; click here to register to attend. The event also will be webcast on UChicago Live.

Earlier this month, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2013 economics Nobel to Fama, the Robert R. McCormick Distinguished Service Professor of Finance at Chicago Booth, and Hansen, the David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor in Economics, Statistics and the College, and the research director of the Becker Friedman Institute for Research in Economics. Yale economist Robert J. Shiller shared the award.

The Nobel citation honored the economists “for their empirical analysis of asset prices,” which has advanced understanding of how and why the prices of stocks and bonds change over time. Fama and Hansen are among the 89 UChicago scholars to have received the Nobel, 28 of whom have won the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Panelists for the Nov. 4 event include:

  • John Cochrane, the AQR Capital Management Distinguished Service Professor of Finance at Chicago Booth
  • John Heaton, the Joseph L. Gidwitz Professor of Finance and deputy dean for faculty at Chicago Booth
  • James Heckman, the Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, and a winner of the 2000 Nobel in Economics Sciences
  • Tobias Moskowitz, the Fama Family Professor of Finance at Chicago Booth

A reception will immediately follow the panel, from 4:45 to 6 p.m. Chicago Booth and the Division of Social Sciences are hosting the event.