David Strauss - 507th Convocation Speech


June 11, 2011
July 1, 2011
UChicago Creative


June 11th 2011

The 507th Convocation preserves the tradition of a faculty speaker; this year the speaker is David Strauss, the Gerald Ratner Distinguished Service Professor of Law. In addition, the University will present honorary degrees to four recipients: paleontologist Meemann Chang from Beijing University; former chairman of the University of Chicago Board of Trustees James S. Crown; renowned composer Sofia Gubaidulina; and mathematician Robert Langlands from the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, N.J.