President Bush Awards 2008 National Humanities Medals

Recipients honored for outstanding cultural contributions
Radio show host Milton J. Rosenberg among this year's honorees

President George W. Bush on Monday awarded the prestigious National Humanities Medal for 2008 to radio show host Milton J. Rosenberg during a ceremony held in the White House East Room. Rosenberg is Professor Emeritus in Psychology at the University of Chicago.

In total, nine distinguished Americans, one museum, and a philanthropic foundation were honored for their exemplary contributions to the humanities and were recognized for their scholarship, literary works, philanthropy, and preservation efforts.

In addition to Milton J. Rosenberg, the President presented National Humanities Medals to Gabor S. Boritt, scholar and Civil War historian; Richard Brookhiser, biographer and historian; Harold Holzer, scholar and Civil War historian; Myron Magnet, journalist and author; Albert Marrin, children's book author; Thomas A. Saunders III and Jordan Horner Saunders, philanthropists; Robert H. Smith, philanthropist; John Templeton Foundation; and Norman Rockwell Museum.

Milton J. Rosenberg is being recognized "for bringing the world of ideas to millions of listeners. Combining a scholar's understanding and a teacher's openness, he has made a home in radio for elevated conversation and profound thought."

The National Humanities Medal, first awarded in 1989 as the Charles Frankel Prize, honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation's understanding of the humanities, broadened our citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans' access to important resources in the humanities.

The Humanities Medal is the most prestigious award in the humanities. Over the last decade, including this year's recipients, the National Humanities Medal has been awarded to only 107 individuals and 9 organizations. Among those recognized during this time period are Bernard Lewis, Judith "Miss Manners" Martin, Madeleine L'Engle, Harvey Mansfield, and John Updike.

Medal recipients do not compete for this award but are specially selected by the President for their life-long achievements in their diverse areas of expertise.

A detailed profile of Milton J. Rosenberg and each of the 2008 medalists is available at:


Media Contact

Steve Koppes
Associate Director, News
News Office, University Communications
(773) 702-8366

Stay Connected

Follow UChicago’s social media sites, news feeds and mobile suite.